Erinity Avenue Altresbyteristn Ehurch Burham, North Earolina

"A Friendly Community Church"



God make the door of this House wide enough to receive all who need human love, friendship, and the Father's care; and narrow enough to shut out all pride, envy and hatred. Make its threshold smooth enough for the feet of little children and rugged enough to call forth our mature powers.

AN ORDER OF MORNING WORSHIP ELEVEN O'CLOCK SUNDAY OCTOBER 11, 1959

Prepare For Worship Through Silent Prayer

PRELUDE Chorale - "Our Father Which Art In Heaven" Buxtehude PROCESSIONAL HYMN * "We Gather Together" No. 18 -Congregation stands to join in singing second stanza-

CALL TO WORSHIP Let Us Worship God ADORATION PRAYER OF CONFESSION ASSURANCE OF PARDON FIRST SCRIPTURE LESSON (Unison) Psalm 23 Sel. No. 5, p. 472 HYMN FOR THE MONTH "Come to the Saviour Now" Wigner Chancel Choir

SECOND SCRIPTURE LESSON THE APOSTLES' CREED * (Hymnal - Page 12) Gloria Patri * "Amazing Grace" No. 275 (2nd Tune) HYMN MORNING PRAYERS Thanksgiving Supplication Intercession

Communion of Saints Lord's Prayer

OFFERING Let us make our offering unto Almighty God

OFFERTORY PRAYER

SERMON

"Dedication to Miriam" Weinberger OFFERTORY

DOXOLOGY * -At this point in the Service children leave with Mr. Campbell for Jr. Church-

"PARTNERS" The Minister RECESSIONAL HYMN * "O Brother Man" No. 474 BENEDICTION and Choral Response POSTLUDE

* Congregation stands..

MEMORIAL FLOWERS

In loving memory of Mr. D. J. Smith, Sr. by his family.

Welcome to our Visitors

SINCERE CHRISTIAN SYMPATHY IS EXTENDED TO Dr. Frank T. deVyver and family at the death of his mother. "Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord"

CHURCH CALENDAR

SUNDAY: NURSERY: Sun. Sch. Hr.: Mrs. F. Bersebach, Director Worship Service: Mrs. Ed Beeker, Director JUNIORS & PIONEERS: 5:00, Recreation - 6:00, Supper(25c) 6:30, Worship & Study - Juniors: Mr. & Mrs. Pat Beard, Pioneers: Rev. Mr. Jeff H. Campbell. SENIORS: 6:30 in the Church Parlor with Mrs. Jeff H. Campbell discussion leader and Dr. Bennett. DIACONATE: Monthly meeting at 7:45 in Church Parlor. MEN'S RALLY: At the First Church here in Durham, registration begins this afternoon at 3:30. Evening service begins at 7:30 with our minister and members of our Chancel Choir participating. MONDAY: CO-OP NURSERY: 9-12:00 Daily, Monday-Friday TUESDAY: CAROL CHOIR: 3:45 P.M. CHOIR SCHOOL: 4:15 P.M. SESSION: Monthly meeting at 7:30 P.M. CO-OP NURSERY MOTHERS MEETING: 8:00 P.M. at the Church. WEDNESDAY: COVERED DISH SUPPER: 6:30 P.M. MID-WEEK SERVICE: 7:30 P. M. sponsored this month by the Women of the Church - Dr. Bennett teaching a study on Women of the Bible. THURSDAY: Scouts - Troop 412: 7:30 P.M. at the Church Chancel Choir: Devotion & Rehearsal at 7:30 P.M. FRIDAY: TEAM CAPTAINS - EVERY MEMBER CANVASS: Dinner meeting at the Church - 6:30 P.M.

> HYMN FOR THE MONTH OF OCTOBER "Come to the Saviour Now" No. 261

Although written by John M. Wigner, son of an English Baptist minister, in 1871, this hymn did not appear in print until 1880, when it was included in the 'Supplement' of the English Baptist Psalms and Hymns, compiled by the author's father, who also edited the original edition of this Hymnal in 1858. The tune is called 'Invitation' and is the second hymn tune to be called by that name. Composed by Frederick Maker, it has the distinction of having been in the very first English Hymnal to be published where the music accompanied the words as we see them today.

The Church Directory

THE CHURCH STAFF

WILLIAM CROMPTON BENNETT, Th.D., Minister The Manse: 1012 Green Street Telephone 8-4346

WAYNE E. BOYD, B.D., Assistant to the Minister 814 Lancaster Street, Telephone 8-2548

MRS. BRYANT O. BIVINS, JR., Church Secretary Office Hours: 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M. — Monday through Friday 9:00 A.M.-12:30 P.M. — Saturday Church Office Telephone 6-6671 - Minister's Study 2-3206

CHARLES E. JOHNSON, B.D., Minister to Students MRS. AGNES M. SKILLEN, Minister of Music 1203 North Gregson Street — Telephone 8-3534 Office, Duke University, Tel. 9011, Ex. 2-4211 106 Charlotte St., Telephone 8-2927

DR. AND MRS. HENRY S. NELSON MR. AND MRS. L. B. CARDEN, Custodians Medical Missionaries, Luebo, Congo Belge, Africa

904 Virgie Street, Telephone 8-2160

THE SESSION

LIFE MEMBER: J. L. KIRKLAND

Class of 1959

ROBERT G. CARR LINWOOD L. COLLINS HARLOW S. DIXON J. FRANK JARMAN L. D. KIRKLAND, JR. L. R. SHAW

Class of 1959 VERN E. BELL A. L. FOSTER W. A. KIRKLAND CHARLES F. KNOTT WILLIAM L. MCLEOD EDWIN H. SHOAF. V. Chrm.

Class of 1960 RUSSELL N. BARRINGER ROBERT L. BLAKE DR. H. C. CARR DR. FRANK DEVYVER I. C. PETREA DR. C. R. VAIL, Clerk

DEACONS

Class of 1960 FRANK H. BARR DR. CLARENCE GOHDES W. B. KIRKLAND, JR. Sec. EDWIN J. MASSENGILL DR. ROY T. PARKER TYREE F. WOODS

Class of 1961 DR. DAN T. CARR LAWRENCE E. CRABTREE C. B. GOSWICK, SR. DR. C. HUGH HOLMAN ROBERT KING, JR. DR. JAMES S. WILSON

Class of 1961 R. IRVIN BEAVERS, Treas. GEO. J. HAYNES, Chrm. ED R. HIGGINS EDWARD L. MASSENGILL **JOHN M. SAMONDS** D. A. WOODS, Asst. Sec.

......Mrs. McDewey SigmonMrs. C. B. Goswick

Assistant Treasurer: MAX H. MURCHISON

WOMEN OF THE CHURCH

PresidentMrs. William Barry		SecretaryMrs. McDewey Sigmon		
First Vice PresidentMrs. Gurney Blanchard		TreasurerMrs. C. B. Goswick		
Second Vice PresidentMrs. R. N. Barringer		HistorianMrs. A. Bruce Umstead		
CIRCLE CHAIRMEN	BIBLE LEADERS	CIRCLE CHAIRMEN	BIBLE LEADERS	

1.	Mrs.	Thomas BlackMrs.	Robe	ert Blake
2.	Mrs.	Geo. A. WatsonMrs. Gurn	ley B	lanchard
3.	Mrs.	Roy T. ParkerMrs	s. H.	C. Carr
4.	Mrs.	C. F. CartyMrs. Fi	rank	deVyver
		Nora LewisMrs. E.		

HAIRMEN BIBLE LEADERS Miss Tillie RodgersMrs. Robert King

9. Mrs. S. T. StephensonMrs. Boardman Bennett

10. Mrs. L. Jack WilsonMrs. Sam Bright

THE CHURCH SCHOOL

Nursery: Mrs. Wayne Rambeau Kindergarten: Mrs. P. M. Bussell Primary: Mrs. Edwin H. Shoaf Adult Dept.: Dr. Henry C. Carr

Junior: Mr. R. L. Blake Pioneer: Mr. Wayne E. Boyd Young People: Dr. Chas. R. Vail Superintendent: Mr. John M. Samonds Asst. Supt.: Mr. Wm. L. McLeod Treasurer: Mr. C. C. White Librarian: Mrs. A. Stan Colvin

THE YOUNG PEOPLE'S GROUPS

Pioneer and Senior Fellowship Wayne E. Boyd

Junior Fellowship Mrs. R. L. Blake Mrs. Jack Crumpacker

Choir Schools Mrs. Agnes M. Skillen

Cub-Scouts James G. Yeaman Edwin H. Shoaf Explorer Scouts Dr. R. F. Becker

Boy Scouts D. A. Woods, Scoutmaster R. L. Blake W. B. Kirkland, Jr. H. W. Johnson

Chairman of Troop Committee, Dr. William Barry

Day Nursery: Mrs. Edward K. Kraybill and Mrs. Fred Bersebach, Teachers

CHRISTIAN PRINTING CO., DURHAM, N. C.