Erinity Avenue Atresbyterian Church Burham, North Carolina

"A Friendly Community Church"



God make the door of this House wide enough to receive all who need human love, friendship, and the Father's care; and narrow enough to shut out all pride, envy and hatred. Make its threshold smooth enough for the feet of little children and rugged enough to call forth our mature powers.

AN ORDER OF MORNING WORSHIP ELEVEN O'CLOCK SUNDAY NOVEMBER 15, 1959

LET US WORSHIP GOD

PRELUDE Prelude and Fugue in F Major Finale "Nun Danket"

Bach

PROCESSIONAL HYMN * "A Mighty Fortress Is Our God" No. 91 -Congregation stands to join in singing second stanza-

CALL TO WORSHIP

PRAYERS OF ADORATION AND CONFESSION

FIRST SCRIPTURE LESSON Psalm 91

Page 491, Sel. No. 21

**

"Songs of Praises" ANTHEM Soloist - Mrs. H. L. Noell

arr. by Jones

**

SECOND SCRIPTURE LESSON

THE APOSTLES' CREED * (Hymnal - Page 12)

Gloria Patri *

MORNING PRAYERS

"O for a Thousand Tongues to Sing" No. 141 HYMN

Let us make our offering unto Almighty God PRAYER OF DEDICATION

RECESSIONAL HYMN *

OFFERTORY

OFFERING

"All Beautiful the March of Days" Chancel Choir Hymn for the Month

"Christian, Dost Thou See Them" No. 360

DOXOLOGY * -At this point in the Service children will leave with Mr. Campbell for Junior Church-

SERMON

"THE DEVIL TO DEAL WITH"

The Minister

BENEDICTION and Choral Response

POSTLUDE

CONGREGATIONAL MEETING FOR THE NOMINATION OF ELDERS

* Congregation stands.

Ushers seat congregation.

Your silence and reverence will help others prepare their hearts for worship.

WE ARE HAPPY TO WELCOME INTO THE FELLOWSHIP OF OUR CONGREGATION those received into membership last week:

Mr. & Mrs. L. Neil Williams, Jr., 858 Louise Circle Mr. & Mrs. David Quattlebaum, Jr., 805 Louise Circle Mrs. Basil M. Watkins, 1415 North Mangum Street

ASSISTING THE DEACONS AS USHERS TODAY ARE: Mr. W. W. Morton and Mr. J. Melvin Tillman.

SENIOR HIGH FELLOWSHIP

Districts I and III, Granville Presbytery, will meet here this afternoon, with registration at 2:30 P. M. Featured speaker will be Mrs. Jeff H. Campbell. Supper will be served at 6:30 in the Dinning Hall. Miss Doris Petrea is District Representative.

PLEDGES

Those who have not turned in their pledge cards are asked to do so this week or at your earliest convenience. They may be placed in the offering plate or mailed into the church office.

CONGREGATIONAL MEETING

Members of Trinity Avenue are asked to stay for a short while after the Service this morning for the nomination of Elders. Next Sunday, November 22nd, a congregational meeting is called for the election of Elders. Mr. R. N. Barringer is Chairman of the Nominations Committee. Working with the committee today are Mr. R. D. Garrison, Mr. B. W. Harris, Mr. L. E. Crabtree and Dr. James S. Wilson.

HYMN FOR THE MONTH

"All Beautiful the March of Days" No. 96
Like the stars of the heaven, the descent of snowflakes suggest infinity and reveal the superb artistry of the Creator. The Bible links it up with the abundant grace of God, and the Psalmist prayed "Wash me, and I will be whiter than snow."
In this hymn, Frances Whitmarsh Wile, the author links the snow-clad landscape with the hearth and with the Creator. Mrs. Wile wrote this winter hymn at the request of her Minister, Dr. Wm. C. Gannett who was busy revising and publishing 'Unity Hymns and Carols' in 1910 and 11. The poem has appeared in many American hymnbooks, but set to various tunes. This tune 'Forrest Green' is actually an old English folk tune called 'The Ploughboy's Dream."

The Church Directory

THE CHURCH STAFF

WILLIAM CROMPTON BENNETT, Th.D., Minister The Manse: 1012 Green Street Telephone 8-4346

WAYNE E. BOYD, B.D., Assistant to the Minister 814 Lancaster Street, Telephone 8-2548

MRS. BRYANT O. BIVINS, JR., Church Secretary
Office Hours: 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M. — Monday through Friday
9:00 A.M.-12:30 P.M. — Saturday
Church Office Telephone 6-6671 - Minister's Study 2-3206

Church Office Telephone 6-6671 - Minister's Study 2-3206

CHARLES E. JOHNSON, B.D., Minister to Students MRS. AGNES M. SKILLEN, Minister of Music 1203 North Gregson Street — Telephone 8-3534

106 Charlotte St., Telephone 8-2927

Office, Duke University, Tel. 9011, Ex. 2-4211

DR. AND MRS. HENRY S. NELSON

Medical Missionaries, Luebo, Congo Belge, Africa

MR. AND MRS. L. B. CARDEN, Custodians ica 904 Virgie Street, Telephone 8-2160

THE SESSION

LIFE MEMBER: J. L. KIRKLAND

Class of 1959

ROBERT G. CARR
LINWOOD L. COLLINS
HARLOW S. DIXON
J. FRANK JARMAN
L. D. KIRKLAND, JR.
L. R. SHAW

Class
RUSSELL N. E
ROBERT L. BL
ROB

Class of 1960

RUSSELL N. BARRINGER
ROBERT L. BLAKE
DR. H. C. CARR
DR. FRANK DEVYVER
J. C. PETREA
DR. C. R. VAIL, Clerk

Class of 1961
DR. DAN T. CARR
LAWRENCE E. CRABTREE
C. B. GOSWICK, SR.
DR. C. HUGH HOLMAN
ROBERT KING, JR.
DR. JAMES S. WILSON

DEACONS

Class of 1959
VERN E. BELL
A. L. FOSTER
W. A. KIRKLAND
CHARLES F. KNOTT
WILLIAM L. MCLEOD
EDWIN H. SHOAF, V. Chrm.

Class of 1960

FRANK H. BARR R. IR

DR. CLARENCE GOHDES GEO.

W. B. KIRKLAND, JR. Sec. ED R

EDWIN J. MASSENGILL EDWA

DR. ROY T. PARKER JOHN

TYREE F. WOODS D. A

Assistant Treasurer: MAX H. MURCHISON

Class of 1961
R. IRVIN BEAVERS, Treas.
GEO. J. HAYNES, Chrm.
ED R. HIGGINS
EDWARD L. MASSENGILL
JOHN M. SAMONDS
D. A. WOODS, Asst. Sec.

WOMEN OF THE CHURCH

President	Secretary Mrs. McDewey Sigmon Treasurer Mrs. C. B. Goswick Historian Mrs. A. Bruce Umstead
CIRCLE CHAIRMEN 1. Mrs. Thomas Black	CIRCLE CHAIRMEN 6. Miss Tillie Rodgers

THE CHURCH SCHOOL

Nursery: Mrs. Wayne Rambeau Kindergarten: Mrs. P. M. Bussell Primary: Mrs. Edwin H. Shoaf Adult Dept.: Dr. Henry C. Carr Junior: Mr. R. L. Blake Pioneer: Mr. Wayne E. Boyd Young People: Dr. Chas. R. Vail Superintendent: Mr. John M. Samonds Asst. Supt.: Mr. Wm. L. McLeod Treasurer: Mr. C. C. White Librarian: Mrs. A. Stan Colvin

THE YOUNG PEOPLE'S GROUPS

Pioneer and Senior Fellowship Wayne E. Boyd Junior Fellowship Mrs. R. L. Blake Mrs. Jack Crumpacker Choir Schools Mrs. Agnes M. Skillen

Cub-Scouts
James G. Yeaman Edwin H. Shoaf
Explorer Scouts
Dr. R. F. Becker

Boy Scouts
D. A. Woods, Scoutmaster R. L. Blake
W. B. Kirkland, Jr. H. W. Johnson

Chairman of Troop Committee, Dr. William Barry

Day Nursery: Mrs. Edward K. Kraybill and Mrs. Fred Bersebach, Teachers