Erinity Avenue Atresbyteristn Ehurch Burham, North Earolina

"A Friendly Community Church"



God make the door of this House wide enough to receive all who need human love, friendship, and the Father's care; and narrow enough to shut out all pride, envy and hatred. Make its threshold smooth enough for the feet of little children and rugged enough to call forth our mature powers.

MORNING WORSHIP SUNDAY, MARCH 6, 1949 ELEVEN O'CLOCK

ORGAN PRELUDE "Adagio" MacDowell CALL TO WORSHIP Choir "The Lord Is In His Holy Temple" INVOCATION - THE LORD'S PRAYER *HYMN OF PRAISE No. 21 "Love Divine, All Loves Excelling" THE APOSTLES CREED *GLORIA PATRI RESPONSIVE READING Psalm 15 Selection 3, Page 3 SOPRANO SOLO Miss Betty June Hurst READING OF THE SCRIPTURE Matthew 7:1-5, 13-14 *MEDITATION PASTORAL PRAYER "My Voice Shalt Thou Hear" Choral Response * Organ Interlude WELCOLE TO VISITORS TITHES AND OFFERINGS PRAYER OF DEDICATION OFFERTORY "Theme from Magnolia Suite" Dett * LOXOLOGY SERMON Rev. William C. Bennett "THE PEN OF A READY WRITER" HYMN OF CONSECRATION No. 451 "Saviour, Again to Thy Dear Name We Raise" BENEDICTION Choral Response "God Be With Thee" ORGAN POSTLUDE * Those waiting may be seated. "My tongue is the pen of a rapid writer."

"Death and life are in the power of the tongue." So "Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth. Keep the door of my lips." - from the Book of Psalms PIONEER AND SENIOR YOUNG PEOPLE will meet at the Church 6:15 P.M. for their vesper services.

AT THE CONGREGATIONAL MEETING last Sunday the following men were nominated for the office of Deacon: R. N. Barringer, V. E. Bell, Gurney R. Blanchard, F. E. Dickerson, A. L. Foster, R. D. Garrison, Vernon W. Harrison, L. D. Kirkland, Jr., Paul M. McCain, Frank H. Murray, H. L. Noell, Sr., Perry A. Sloan, Jr. Due to the resignation of M. D. Clark (Class of 1950) twelve men have been nominated instead of ten, and the election will be for six Deacons instead of five, one to fill Mr. Clark's unexpired term.

A CONGREGATIONAL MEETING is called to meet on next Sunday following Morning Worship for the purpose of electing six Deacons.

NEXT SUNDAY Rev. E. E. Gillespie of Greensboro, Supt. and Treas. of Synod's Home Mission Committee, will preach here.

THE WOMEN OF THE CHURCH will hold their Annual Meeting tomorrow evening, March 7th, at 8:00 in the downstairs Assembly Room. All women are invited, however, to be present for the special prayer service at 7:45. Officers will give reports on the past year's work; and new officers are reminded to be present for their installation. Mr. Bennett will conduct the installation service. Following the installation service, members of Circle No. 6 will be hostesses at a social hour.

MID-WEEK SUPPER AND PRAYER SERVICE, Wednesday evening 6:30.

CHOIR SCHOOL, Thursday 3:45; Adult and Youth Choirs, 7:30. All members of Junior, Youthidand Adult Choirs are asked to return to the Church any choir robes that have been kept in the homes.

The Chinese have a proverb: "If there is righteousness in the heart, there will be beauty in the character. If there be beauty in the character, there will be harmony in the home. If there is harmony in the home, there will be order in the nation. When there is order in the nation, there will be peace in the world."

The Church Directory

THE CHURCH STAFF

REV. WILLIAM C. BENNETT MINISTER-ELECT

MISS MARY C. MCCORMICK, Church Secretary Office Telephone R-6671 Residence, 908 Monmouth Avenue

MR. L. B. CARDEN, Sexton Residence, 440 S. Driver Avenue—Telephone N-7823

THE SESSION

LIFE MEMBER, J. L. KIRKLAND

Class of 1949	Class of 1950	Class of 1951
FRED R. CLOSE	OSCAR BOWDEN	LUTHER H. BARBOUR
GEORGE F. KIRKLAND, Moderator	FRANK T. DEVYVER	DANIEL T. CARR
		HENRY C. CARR
R. J. MASSENGILL		CLAUDE B. GOSWICK
HAROLD L. NOELL	PRESON P. PHILLIPS	FRANK G. SATTERFIELD, SR.

THE BOARD OF DEACONS

Class of 1949	Class of 1950	Class of 1951
V. E. BELL	R. G. CARR	GEORGE M. MILLER, Treasurer
	M. D. CLARK	J. C. PETREA
VERNON W. HARRISON, Secretary		
LAURANCE D. KIRKLAND, JR.	Bldg. Fund Treas.	CHARLES R. VAIL
PERRY A. SLOAN	W. A. KIRKLAND	TYREE F. WOODS, Chairman
	L. R. SHAW	

THE WOMEN OF THE CHURCH

President	MRS. FRANK H. MURRAY
First Vice-President	MRS. L. J. KIRKLAND
Second Vice-President	MRS. M. D. CLARK
Secretary	MRS. A. L. FOSTER
Treasurer	
Chairman of Circle One	MRS. J. THURMAN JOHNSON
Chairman of Circle Two	
Chairman of Circle Three	MRS. PRESON P. PHILLIPS
Chairman of Circle Four	
Chairman of Circle Five	MRS. FORREST CALLAHAN
Chairman of Circle Six	MRS. NORA LEWIS

THE CHURCH SCHOOL

CHURCH MUSIC

Organ, Adult and Youth Choirs MRS. A. L. SKILLEN Junior Choir MRS. HARRY M. BOYD

THE YOUNG PEOPLE'S GROUPS

Pioneer Fellowship PAUL PARKS, President MR. AND MRS. TYREE F. WOODS, Adult Advisers Youth Fellowship JAMES LLOYD, President MR. AND MRS. EDWIN H. SHOAF, Adult Advisers

CHRISTIAN PRINTING CO.