The Official Board of Stewards held its regular meeting in the Church parlor on August 7, 1956, with Chairman Charles Chewning presiding.

The minutes of the July meeting were read and approved.

Mr. Queen reported that Irving Allen preferred not to change from his present position to that of Chairman of the Commission on Membership and Evangelism; and that this Commission had had no meeting.

W. E. Whitford, reporting for the Commission on Education, said that there was a need for additional teachers in the Church School and also for a Superintendent of the adult division, and an Assistant Superintendent of Membership Cultivation. This Commission has a sub-committee on recreation which plans programs in this field.

John Dozier, Chairman of the Commission on Finance and Stewardship Cultivation reported that there was about sixty percent now returned both in number of cards and in intended budget. In order to clear last year's records he moved that \$91.19 be paid to the Conference for the Orphanage and motion was passed.

- Mr. J. H. Barton reported that the decorations and other work at the Parsonage were under way.
- C. J. Jones reported that \$5723.85 was collected on pledges during July, and that the \$1800.00 note borrowed for the past year's obligations would be paid the mext day.

The following Committees of the Official Board were determined and the following named persons were elected to said Committees:

THE AUDIT COMMITTEE: A. W. Knight, R. B. Reade, Chairman, and J. C. Saunders, Jr

THE COMMITTEE ON CHURCH ROLLS: Miss Kathleen Cox, J. H. Coman, M. B. Fowler, Mrs. Arthur Kale, C. E. Jordan, and R. C. White.

THE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS: Mrs. Elizabeth Dixon, Dr. John Glasson, Mrs. G. T. Hargitt, M. T. Spears, Sr., and Alfred Williams.

THE MUSIC COMMITTEE: Mrs. S. J. Angier, Mrs. Wesley Beavers, C. E. Jordan, Mrs. J. H. Semans, and R. T. A. Pifer.

THE PARSONAGE COMMITTEE: Mrs. J. S. Harvey, C. E. Jordan, Mrs. Alberta Lane, Mrs. Eunice Mattox, and Mrs. J. H. Semans.

THE COMMITTEE ON CHURCH PROPERTY: J. H. Barton, Chairman, W. K. Howard, Vice-Chairman, J. W. Cole, W. T. Coman, C. N. Hibberd, J. E. Kennedy, W. R. Lawson, James Phelps, Dillard Teer, and W. E. Whitford.

THE COMMITTEE ON GOOD LITERATURE: W. E. Alley, Mrs. N. D. Bitting, Mrs. J. P. Breedlove, N. M. Carroll, Miss Laurel Glass, Miss Elizabeth Johnson, and W. F. Mansfield.

THE COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL LIFE: Miss Anne Garrard, Mrs. C. W. Hall, Horace Mansfield, Miss Dorothy Wilson and A. B. Windham.

THE COMMITTEE ON USHERS: Mr. R. C. White, Mr. Philip Umstead, and Mr. W. W. Poythress.

THE COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL SERVICE: R. C. White, Chairman, A. L. Carver, J. R. Casteel, Thos. B. Cranford, J. G. Huckabee, Dr. J. E. G. McLain, Dr. Lewis McKee, R. K. Proctor and Oliver Upchurch.

THE COMMISSION ON EDUCATION: Elective: Mrs. Thos. S. Coble, Jr., Miss Laurel Glass, Miss Elizabeth Johnson, Dr. Samuel Holton, S. J. Angier, Prof. R. N. Wilson and Horace Mansfield.

THE COMMISSION ON FINANCE AND STEWARDSHIP CULTIVATION:

Ex Officio: Rev. V. E. Queen, Charles Chewning, Mrs. A. H. Borland, C. J. Jones.

Elective: John Dozier, Chairman, J. H. Barton, W. T. Coman, E. W. Dunham, Dr.

John Glasson, T. G. Goad, R. B. Reade, E. C. Brooks, Jr., John Perian, T. S.

White, Jr., R. C. White, Marshall T. Spears, Sr., Marshall T. Spears, Jr., and
S. J. Angier.

Mr. Queen requested that there also be a Committee on Hospitals and Homes and a Committee on Visitation, and that they might be filled by nomination if to be put in effect. The question of a Commission on Worship was referred to the Pastor for a report at a later date.

Upon motion duly made and adopted the Pastor was authorized to employ a person of his choosing for Assistant Pastor if proper terms can be agreed upon.

Upon motion duly made and adopted the Pastor, together with the Commission on Christian Education, were empowered to employ a person to fill the post of Director of Christian Education.

Mrs. Jones moved that the Committee on Church property consider certain painting needs in the Kindergarten Department. Motion passed.

There being no further business the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Marshall T. Spears, Jr., Secretary