To: William Kostlevy, for the Executive Committee of the Wesleyan Theological Society

PROPOSAL ONLY

TIMOTHY L. SMITH AND MILDRED BANGS WYNKOOP BOOK AWARD

Nature and Purpose

This award is named in honor of the outstanding scholarly contributions of historian Timothy L. Smith and theologian Mildred Bangs Wynkoop. It is granted periodically by the Wesleyan Theological Society to recognize a recent publication of distinction in a research area related to the Wesleyan/Holiness tradition. Each book honored is judged to have helped the Wesleyan/Holiness tradition to be better understood and/or promoted.

Criteria for Choice

The book chosen for this award must fit well the nature and purpose of this award, be a full-length work published by a recognized academic press, and be deemed to make a substantive contribution to the author's particular field of study and to the Wesleyan/Holiness tradition generally. The book must have been published no longer than two years prior to its nomination as an award recipient.

Process of Choice

Nominations may be made by any member of the Wesleyan Theological Society or any academic publisher by submitting three copies of the nominated book to the Editor of the Wesleyan Theological Journal for the review of the Editorial Committee. Included with such copies must be a formal letter of nomination supporting the book, with a written rationale that addresses the book in terms of the purposes of this award. Such submission must be received by November 1 of the year prior to the March when the award would be given at the WTS annual meeting. All submissions will be considered. The Editor of the WTJ will coordinate the Editorial Committee Fs consideration of nominations received, leading to a decision on which if any nomination will be recommended to the WTS Executive Committee. The Executive Committee will take final action on any recommendation so received. The award is made only when a recommendation is received from the Editorial Committee and approved by the Executive Committee.

Public Honors

Recipients of this award will be recognized formally at the annual meeting of the Wesleyan Theological Society and the book will be featured in a subsequent issue of the Wesleyan Theological Journal. Other recognitions may be given as the Executive Committee determines from year to year.

-- Combined preliminary thinking of Douglas Strong, Barry Callen, and Stanley Ingersol