## Minutes Executive Committee March 2, 2000

The executive committee was convened by Al Truesdale, president at 6pm. Members present were Steve McCormick, Sharon Pearson, Barry Callen, William Kostlevy, Craig Keen and Doug Strong.

## Reports:

First Vice-president, Steve McCormick reported on the 2000 annual meeting.

Second vice- president, Sharon Pearson shared her vision for the 2001 conference theme, "Unity and Reconciliation in the Wesleyan Tradition." The committee strongly encouraged her to pursue this theme.

Barry Callen, editor of the WTJ shared his report.

William Kostlevy, secretary-treasurer circulated his report.

Promotional secretary, Craig Keen shared his report.

Nominating Committee chair, Doug Strong indicated that the candidates for second vice-president were David Bundy and John Culp.

## Old and New Business:

- 1. Smith/Wynkoop Book Award; it was agreed the president would present the award.
- 2. Future Meeting sites: 2002-Hobe Sound Bible College; 2003 Asbury Theological Seminary (with SPS), 2004 Roberts Wesleyan College; 2005, Seattle Pacific University will be approached; 2006, open; 2007, Olivet Nazarene University; 2008, Nazarene Theological Seminary.
- 3. Role of Promotional Secretary: it was agreed promotional secretary would be responsible for membership recruitment; diversity goals; institutional recruitment, media contacts.
- 4. "Fellowship of Young Scholars:" Al Truesdale reported that Tom Oord had been acti8ve in both the organization of a "fellowship of young scholars," and in a "Wesleyan Philosophical Society." The officers expressed support for both ventures.
- 5. Wesleyan/Holiness Women Clergy Conference: C. Lecelle-Peterson will serve as WTS liaison with the W/HWCC.
- 6. WTS slot at CHP will be filled by the Joe Coleson and the Christian Education Committee.
- 7. NNU proposal: A committee of William Kostlevy, Barry Callen and David Bundy were authorized to respond.
- 8. Scholarships for Graduate Students: The committee agreed it was for travel and should be limited to about \$2,000.00.

The committee adjourned at about 10pm.

William Kostlevy, secretary-treasurer