WTS Executive Committee Minutes September 29, 1999

Opening: The meeting was called to order by president Al Truesdale at 3pm. Members present were Sharon Pearson, Barry Callen, Steve McCormick, Bill Kostlevy and Craig Keen. Doug Strong, chair of the nominating committee, was unable to participate.

2000 program: Steve McCormick proposed that all the paper proposal be accepted. After some discussion his proposal was accepted. There was considerable discussion about the make up of the two panels discussions at the 2000 meeting.

Al Truesdale reported that he planned with the themes of the "love of God" and Hell.

Bill Kostlevy expressed some concern about lagging membership. It was suggested that he, Craig Keen and perhaps Phil Meadows, an expert on technology, might work together in addressing this problem.

There was some discussion about the scholarship money for minorities and graduate students wishing to attend the WTS meetings. Bill Kostlevy will consult with Doug Strong about these funds.

Barry Callen urged executive committee members to remember the Smith/Wynkoop Book Award.

The life-time achievement award will be awarded jointly to Delbert R. Rose and Susan Schultz Rose. It was agreed that Bill Kostlevy would make the presentation.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:15.

William Kostlevy secretary-treasurer