

WESLEYAN THEOLOGICAL SOCIETY

A FELLOWSHIP OF WESLEYAN ARMINIAN SCHOLARS

ESTABLISHED IN 1965

7 November 1983

Brother Jeffrey Gros, F.S.C. Commission on Faith and Order National Council of Churches of Christ Room 872 475 Riverside Drive New York, New York 10115-0050

Dear Jeff:

Thank you very much for gracing our annual meeting with your presence last week. You certainly helped us raise our sights ecumenically, and we thank you for the time you gave us.

In the sabbatical absence of our secretary Wayne Caldwell I have been asked to report to you officially the actions taken with regard to your invitation for us to establish a liaison relationship with the Faith and Order Commission. As you know the scciety did vote to establish such a liaison and instructed the executive committee to work out the details of such an arrangement.

The executive committee did meet to discuss the issues involved. If acceptable to the Commission and ycu, we would like for several reasons (including the fact that our society represents over a dozen denominations and for various internal reasons) to designate two representatives. If this arrangement is satisfactory, we have designated for three year terms two persons, myself and David Cubie. You will find addresses for both these persons printed to the left on the stationery.

You know David Cubie from the ride out to Anderson. He is, of course, the current president of the society, a Nazarene, and a theologian of some substance. He has a great deal of interest in the unity of the church and has been projecting a presidential address next year along these lines. He has worked in the method of the Lundensian school of theology and will make an excellent bridge person in the Commission discussions. I commend him highly to you.

OFFICERS - 1982 - 1983

PRESIDENT

David L. Thompson, Ph.D. 4410 Renn Street Rockville, MD 20853

PRESIDENT-ELECT

David L. Cubie, Ph.D. Mount Vernon Nazarene College Mount Vernon, OH 43050

SECRETARY-TREASURER

Wayne E. Caldwell, Th.D. 215 E. 43rd Street Marion, IN 46952

PROMOTIONAL SECRETARY

Donald W. Dayton, B.D., M.S. hern Baptist Theological Seminary dast Butterfield Road Lombard, IL 60148

Program Committee

David L. Cubie, Ph.D., Chairman David L. Thompson, Ph.D. Wayne E. Caldwell, Th.D. Donald W. Dayton, B.D., M.S. Alex R. G. Deasley, Ph.D.

Editorial Committee

Alex R. G. Deasley, Ph.D., Editor Nazarene Theological Seminary 1700 East Meyer Boulevard Kansas City, MO 64131

John A. Knight, Ph.D. Dennis F. Kinlaw, Ph.D.

Membership Committee

Hai A. Cauthron, M.Div., M.A., Chairman Trevecca Nazarene College Nashville, TN 37210 R. Larry Shelton, Th.D. Seattle Pacific University Seattle, WA 98119

Charles E. Baldwin, M.Div., M.A. Nazarene Bible Coilege P.O. Box 15749 Colorado Springs, CO 80935 We look forward very much to working with you and the Commission in the years ahead. We thank you for the invitation to join you--and again for your presence with us in Anderson.

Yours sincerely, Hon 21 ar.

Donald W. Dayton Secretary pro tem Wesleyan Theological Society

Kin